Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Mary Cardone Earns Bid to NCAA DIII Women's Tennis Championships

Mary Cardone Earns Bid to NCAA DIII Women's Tennis Championships

Southwestern University Pirates women's tennis player Mary Cardone was one of 32 individuals to qualify for the 2019 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships in singles competition.

Cardone helped the Pirates to an 18-3 record, advancing to the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC) championship match where Southwestern finished second. She was selected to the All-SCAC Team and was the SCAC Player of the Year runner-up. 

In singles, Cardone finished the season 16-1 in the No. 1 spot with wins over four nationally-ranked teams, including a 6-3, 6-1 victory over Trinity University's Caroline Kutach, who was ranked No. 43 nationally. 

From the NCAA: 

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Committee has selected the individuals who will compete in the singles and doubles competition of the 2019 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championships.

For the individual championships, the national committee has selected seven singles players and three doubles teams from each of the four regions. Additionally, the committee selected the remaining four singles players and four doubles team berths from a national at-large pool.

The individual championships shall consist of 32 singles players and 16 doubles teams. The selection of teams and individuals for the championships is based on win-lost record, strength of schedule, and eligibility and availability of student-athletes.

The team championship will take place May 20-22, and the individual championships May 24-26, both at Stowe Stadium in Kalamazoo, Michigan and will be hosted by the Kalamazoo College.


SINGLES QUALIFIERS (Alphabetical by school):

Camille Smuckler, Amherst (At-Large)

Jacqueline Bukzin, Amherst

Kana Moriyama, Caltech (At-Large)

Danna Taylor, Carnegie Mellon

Marjorie Antohi, Chicago

Johanna Ranta-Aho, Christopher Newport

Catherine Allen, Claremont-Mudd Scripps

Nicole Tan, Claremont-Mudd Scripps

Rebecca Berger, Claremont-Mudd Scripps

Madeleine Paolucci, Case Western Reserve

Daniela Lopez, Emory

Ysabel Gonzalez-Rico, Emory

Amanda Bandrowski, Hope

Claire Hallock, Hope

Anjali Kashyap, Johns Hopkins

Erika Oku, Kenyon

Michelle Uyeda, Linfield

Lauren O'Malley, John Carroll

Rachel Summers, Mary Washington

Christina Puccinelli, Middlebury (At-Large)

Heather Boehm, Middlebury

Katie Hughes, Middlebury (At-Large)

Caroline Casper, Pomona-Pitzer

Maria Lyven, Pomona-Pitzer

Catherine Owen, Sewanee

Risa Fukushige, Skidmore

Mary Cardonne, Southwestern (Texas)

Kristina Yu, Wesleyan (Connecticut)

Venia Yeung, Wesleyan (Connecticut)

Victoria Yu, Wesleyan (Connecticut)

Leah Bush, Williams

Gabi Kitchell, Wisconsin-Whitewater