Men's Lacrosse Defeats JWU with Best Offensive Performance in Program History

Men's Lacrosse Defeats JWU with Best Offensive Performance in Program History

DENVER – The Southwestern University Pirates men's lacrosse team put together its best statistical offensive performance in program history with a 30-3 victory over the Johnson & Wales University (JWU) Wildcats.

Fourteen different Pirates scored with eight scoring multiple goals, led by Kai Knight-Turcan's five goals. The 30 goals set a new Southwestern men's lacrosse record, topping the 29 scored against Northwestern Minnesota on March 7, 2017. With 20 assists, the Pirates also tied the school record of 50 points, also set in that Northwestern game.

The 30 goals are tied with three other teams for the second most in NCAA DIII men's lacrosse this season, just one shy of the mark set by Whittier.

Southwestern opened the game with six goals in the first five minutes with Jared Welsh scoring an unassisted goal a minute in. The Pirates built an 11-0 lead with Knight-Turcan's second goal of the game at the 4:29 mark before JWU got on the board with a Matthew Sening unassisted goal. The Wildcats added another one on a Deshaunte Longley goal to trail 11-2 at the end of the first.

The Pirates scored nine more goals in the second quarter, including three consecutive while a man up, with Knight-Turcan scoring twice and Cody Foster getting the other one.

Coleton Threlkeld ended that run with another unassisted goal for JWU, their last of the game, and the Pirates led 20-3 at the half. The Pirates scored five goals each in the third and fourth quarter while shutting out JWU in the second half.

Southwestern dominated possession, winning a school record 30 of the 36 face offs and posting a 52-14 edge in ground balls with Zane Abbott setting a school record with 14 ground balls. Zac Asbury led the Pirates with seven points, scoring two goals and dishing out five assists.

With the win, the Pirates improved to 8-5 on the season. Southwestern will travel to play Rhodes on Saturday, April 6 at 1:00 p.m.