Stanfield, Seagraves Selected as Pirate Anchor Award Recipients

Stanfield, Seagraves Selected as Pirate Anchor Award Recipients

In Southwestern University campus-wide voting, seniors Josh Stanfield (pictured, right) and Shae Seagraves (pictured, left) have been selected as the 2011 male and female Pirate Anchor Award winners. The ceremony was held between games at the Southwestern vs. Millsaps softball double-header with Dr. Glada Munt (pictured, center).

Stanfield, a swimmer from Bedias, Texas, is majoring in Kinesiology at Southwestern. He is a four year letter-winner on the Pirate men's swim team and is part of the current record holding relays in the 200 medley relay and 200 free relay. Stanfield has been named to the SCAC All-Sportsmanship Team twice (2010, 2011) and is a member of the Academic All-American Men's Swim team of 2010.

Josh is actively involved with the campus community through Operation Achievement where he was a mentor and has been a residence life staff member for three years. As a member of Kappa Alpha Order, Stanfield served as Number IV officer in 2010 and was a member of the Pirate Crew.

Off-campus Josh extends his time and knowledge to the Nitro Swimming Team, coaching age group swimmers aged 5-17.

Seagraves, a forward and golfer from Georgetown, Texas, is a double-major in Kinesiology and English and has been a member of the Dean's List at Southwestern. As a forward on the women's basketball team, Seagraves served as Captain for two seasons and was named to the SCAC Academic Honor Roll twice, SCAC All-Conference Second Team twice and was SU's first ever member of the SCAC All-Tournament Team after the Pirates advanced to the semi-final game at the conference tournament.

In May of 2010 Shae was selected by the NCAA and represented Southwestern University at the NCAA Career in Sports Forum. She has served the campus community by sitting on a campus focus group to provide input on the effects of adding sports as well as serving on the Student Athlete Advisory Committee, being named vice president for the 2010-11 school year.

Seagraves' impact can be felt community-wide as she gives back in multiple ways. She is a Georgetown Partners in Education Mentor and shares her knowledge and love of the game of basketball with Georgetown's youth, coaching a group of middle school aged girl's teams through the Georgetown Fury Club as well as teaching individual lessons.

Other finalists for the 2011 Pirate Anchor Award were Lauren Kjolhede (soccer), Sarah Ayers (swimming), Nick Caputo (basketball), and Chris Churchwell (baseball).

The Anchor award is presented annually by the Student Athletic Advisory Committee (SAAC) to the male and female athlete who best display a number of traits that embody the spirit and character of the SU community. The winners are voted on by any members of the Southwestern student body, faculty and staff.