Southwestern Athletics Hosts Annual Pirate Golf Classic

Southwestern Athletics Hosts Annual Pirate Golf Classic

GEORGETOWN, Texas — Southwestern University Athletics held its annual Pirate Golf Classic on Monday at the Berry Creek Country Club, where it was held for the first time in the event's history. 

The tournament featured a four-person scramble with a noon shotgun start, bringing together alumni, faculty, staff, members of the S Association, and friends of Southwestern to raise money for the Pirate athletic department. 

Nineteen teams competed with the quartet of Todd Mantz, Pat Leonard, Jason Steed, and John Stephens winning the overall competition by two strokes. James Sargent, Jay Hodgkins, Mark Hodgkins, and Lyle Halback finished second. The team of Jeff Hammeken, Joe Lerma, Chris Reynolds, and Terry Truett, representing Sodexo, finished third. 

Mark Hodgkins won the individual award for longest drive on the men's side. Southwestern University Associate Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics Dr. Glada Munt had the longest drive on the women's side and also won the award for Closest To the Pin. 

See Pictures Here