Pirates Tennis Teams Receive ITA All-Academic Awards - Southwestern University

Pirates Tennis Teams Receive ITA All-Academic Awards

Pirates Tennis Teams Receive ITA All-Academic Awards

Georgetown, TX The Intercollegiate Tennis Association in Tempe, Arizona, announced the 2018 All-Academic Teams and Scholar-Athletes on Tuesday, July 24. Out of 735 teams and 4,328 student-athletes across all five divisions of college tennis, 14 Pirate student-athletes were mentioned. There were nine female tennis players and five male tennis players recognized for their academic achievements.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners should be factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2016 and spring 2017).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1) be a varsity letter winner, 2) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).


Women All-Academic Scholar Athletes:

Emilie Moeller

Julie Swets

Nicole Wilson

Maranda Kahl

Anna Schneeman

Taite Drews Jones

Mary Cardone

Kate Daugherty

Mariana Quetzeri


Men All-Academic Scholar Athletes:

Grant Gideon

Alonso Fernandez

Tyler Norman

Alexis Dimanche

Nicholai Benko