Women's Golf Earns Seventh Berth to NCAA Championship

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division III Women's Golf Committee announced 21 teams and six individuals that will participate in the 2013 NCAA Division III Women's Golf Championships and Southwestern University earned their seventh selection to the national championship.

Southwestern posted their highest finish in 2008, finishing in third place. 

Eleven  conferences  have been  granted  automatic qualification  and  the remaining 10 teams were selected on an at-large basis from conferences and the remaining independent institutions. Six individuals, not from selected teams, also were selected for the championships. The championships will consist of both team and individual competition conducted concurrently.  

The tournament consists of 72 holes of play over four days of competition.  In the team competition, the low four scores from each team for each day will count in the team's tota lscore. The  championships  will  be  conducted  May  14-17  at  the  Baytowne  Golf  Course at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort in Destin, Florida.  Methodist University will serve as host.

In 2012, Methodist won its 13th consecutive NCAA Division III Women's Golf Championships with a combined score of 1,242 at Zollner Golf Course in Angola, Indiana. Runner-up honors went to DePauw University (1,248), and the University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire finished third with a score of 1,255. Catherine Wagner of Wisconsin-Eau Claire earned medalist honors by edging Emily Bachert of Centre, Molly Erickson of St. Olaf and SarahPaulson of Central (Iowa) by one shot.

For more information about the 2013 NCAA Division III Women's Golf Championships, log on to www.ncaa.com.