NSCAA Names Perkins to Scholar All-America Team

NSCAA Names Perkins to Scholar All-America Team

KANSAS CITY, Kansas - Senior Evan Perkins earned a Third Team Scholar All-America selection for his performance on the field and in the classroom. Perkins is the first SU player to earn the honor in the history of the program. 

The recognition is another in a long line of awards Perkins has received this season. He was an NSCAA All-West Region selection, All-SCAC First Team and SCAC Co-Offensive Player-of-the-Year, and CoSIDA Academic All-District First Team. 

Perkins led the Pirates in every offensive category this year, setting new records for most points in a season, goals in a season and goals in a game. 

Perkins is joined by fellow SCAC players Denny Mask (Second Team) and Darren McAfee (Third Team) of Trinity in the report. 

To be nominated, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale) throughout his or her career; start more than 50 percent of all games and be a significant contributor to the team; be nominated by an institution that is a current NSCAA College Services member; be a junior or above in academic standing at the current institution; be in his or her second year at the current school if he or she is a transfer student; and submit an official copy of a certified transcript.

Those meeting the above criteria will be considered by the committee for one of the Scholar All-America teams. The committee reviews both the academic and athletic accomplishments of the nominees. The NSCAA Scholar Athletes of the Year for men and women are selected by the national selection committee from all levels of the Scholar All-America teams.

Southwestern fell to Trinity University in the SCAC Conference Championships, ending the season in second place with a 13-8-2 overall record, 5-4-1 in the SCAC.