Southwestern men earn return trip to National Championships

Southwestern men earn return trip to National Championships

INDIANAPOLIS – For the second consecutive season the Southwestern University men's golf team will participate at the NCAA Division III National Championships as announced by the men's golf committee on Monday.

The Pirates – who earned the program's first ever trip last season – earned a Pool C berth to join the list of 41 teams that will take aim at the Grandover Resort in Greensboro, North Carolina. The Championships will get under way May 13 with the final round being held May 16.

Last year the Pirates finished 14th as then-junior Cameron Button finished tied for fifth as the highest finisher for Southwestern at the Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, in Destin, Florida.

Joining Button from last year's squad include Cody Hebert and Jordan Cowart. Cowart has been one of the top individuals for the Pirates this season and is coming off a runner-up finish at the SCAC Championships.

University of Texas-Tyler won last year's title and also earned a Pool C berth with the Pirates. Schreiner will join Southwestern as the only two teams from the SCAC as Mary Hardin-Baylor and Concordia from the American Southwest Conference gives Texas five schools at the championships.