Lowry/Gelotti to Be Inducted into Southwestern Athletics Hall of Fame

Lowry/Gelotti to Be Inducted into Southwestern Athletics Hall of Fame

GEORGETOWN, Texas. - On October 6th Southwestern University Athletics Department will induct its 33rd and 34th members of the Hall of Fame, Dr. Carla Lowry and Matt Gelotti.

Dr. Lowry has been a trailblazer for the Southwestern Athletics Department and women’s athletics. She was announced as the first director of athletics in the history of the University in 1984 and also served as chair of the department of kinesiology, another female first for Southwestern. By the time she retired in 2001 she had added the titles of associate dean of students and director of wellness and leisure.

During her 17-year tenure, Lowry led Southwestern through the challenge of transitioning from a National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) school to National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III institution. The change meant moving from an athletics scholarship granting university to a non-scholarship athletics department. Dr. Lowry not only guided the Pirates through this philosophical change, but also strengthened the department and its influence on student-athletes by increasing sport offerings, overseeing new construction and building renovation of the Corbin J. Robertson Center.

Not only an administrator, Dr. Lowry’s illustrious career includes stints as an athlete, teacher, coach and noted scholar.

A star on the basketball court, Dr. Lowry was an AAU All-America selection for the famous Wayland Baptist Flying Queens that won two AAU national championships. She also represented the United States on the gold medal winning 1959 Pan American Games team and in 1961 captained the US National Team that toured Russia.

Southwestern is the fourth institution to honor Dr. Lowry. She is a member of the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame, Wayland Baptist University Athletic Hall of Honor, and Houston State University Athletic Hall of Honor. Additionally, she has received several national honors including the NAGWS Pathfinder Award and the NACWAA Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr. Lowry earned a bachelor of arts degree from Wayland Baptist College in 1961, a master of arts from Texas Woman’s University in 1963 and completed her doctorate degree from Texas Woman’s University in 1972.

Matt Gelotti, a 2000 graduate of Southwestern University, transferred to Southwestern in the fall of 1996 after walking-on at Creighton University and became one of the most decorated Pirate baseball players in the history of the University.

Gelotti was a three-time All-America pick and in 2000 was named the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) Division III Player-of-the-Year. He was also a four-time All-SCAC selection and was named to the SCAC All-Tournament team three times, helping the Pirates win three SCAC conference championships. He was the SCAC Player-of-the-Year twice, earning the honor in 1999 and 2000.  

A pitcher’s nightmare at the plate, Gelotti still holds the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC) season records for most hits (93), triples (12), home runs (18), runs scored per game (1.73) and runs scored (88). He also holds career records in hits (327), hits per game (1.71), home runs (47), RBI’s (285), doubles (73), triples (38), triples per game (.20), runs scored (263) and runs scored per game (1.37).

During his four years at Southwestern, Gelotti led the league in triples all four seasons, hits and RBI’s three times, home runs and stolen bases twice and doubles and runs scored once. He also holds the NCAA Division III career records for hits and triples and led the nation in an offensive category six times during his career.

Upon graduation, Gelotti signed a professional baseball free agent contract with the Milwaukee Brewers where he hit .271 with an on base percentage of .368 during his time in the system. He earned a bachelor of arts in business from Southwestern in 2000.

Southwestern University will celebrate the legacies of Dr. Lowry and Gelotti and officially induct them into the Hall of Fame on Saturday, October 6, 2012. A reception will be held at 11:30 am followed by the luncheon and ceremony at noon in the Red and Charline McCombs Campus Center. Those interested in attending can register online at http://www.southwestern.edu/athletics/athletics-hall_of_fame.php.