Four to be inducted into Southwestern Athletics Hall of Fame

GEORGETOWN, Texas – The 2014 induction class for the Southwestern Athletics Hall of Fame was announced by Director of Athletics Dr. Glada Munt and four former SU greats will join the hallowed hall.

Danny Mickan

Danny Mickan’s name continues to ring throughout the halls at Southwestern even with nearly 30 years passing since he stepped onto Rockwell Field. Through four seasons, Mickan was an integral part of the Pirate baseball teams that made four postseason appearances and two NAIA World Series appearances. In 1984, SU finished third in the nation and Mickan was named the NAIA World Series Golden Glove Award winner.

Mickan was an Honorable Mention All-Big State Conference pick and earned a spot on the All-Academic Team in 1982 and was an NAIA All-District selection in 1983.  He was heavily decorated in 1984, being named to the NAIA All-Area, All-District and All-Tournament Area II teams while also being selected as the District IV Player of the Year.

Mickan is still tied for the record for most hits in a season with 98 in 1984. He was drafted by the Baltimore Orioles after Southwestern. 

Ronda Seagraves

A shining example for all to follow as a coach and educator, Ronda Seagraves aspired to develop student –athletes to be their best on and off the court and truly epitomized what it meant to “Be Southwestern”. Ronda is the only coach in the history of Southwestern Athletics to win two Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Championships in the same year, taking home titles in women’s basketball and women’s golf in the 1997-98 academic year.

An SCAC Coach of the Year in 1998, Seagraves led the Pirates to their only women’s basketball championship and post season appearance. She was also the SCAC Golf Coach of the Year in 1998 and 1999 with conference championships in 1997 and 1998. The 2000 team was the first women’s golf team to reach the post season, finishing fifth in the nation.

Seagraves coached ten All-SCAC players and has a 108-115 overall record in nine seasons at Southwestern with a 243-198 overall coaching record.

2007-2008 Women’s Golf Team

No other sport has left such an indelible mark on the university in recent years like the women’s golf team. After capturing the SCAC Conference title, the 2008 women’s golf team advanced to the NCAA Championship and posted the highest finish ever for a Pirate golf team, bringing home third place honors.

The team was undefeated in conference match play with an 8-0 record and posted a team match record of 100-24. Many honors were befittingly bestowed upon the Pirates including Head Coach Dan Ruyle earning SCAC Coach of the Year and NGCA Regional Coach of the Year honors. Marissa Mauldin was an NGCA First Team All-America selection, SCAC Golfer of the Year, NGCA All-American Scholar and NGCA All-Region Team pick. Kristen Davenport was also chosen as a NGCA All-American Scholar and NGCA All-Region First Team and earned NGCA Second Team All-America honors. Delilah Dominguez was a Third Team All-America pick and NGCA All-American Scholar.

Ken McAllister

A 2013 Texas Tennis Museum Hall of Fame inductee, McAllister’s impact on the world of tennis can be felt well beyond Southwestern’s campus. A native of San Angelo and Fort Stockton, McAllister was a two-year letter winner on the Pirate tennis team where he competed in #1 singles and #1 doubles from 1962-1964. Upon graduation he began coaching at the high school level at Snyder High School in 1964 where his players won three UIL state titles. McAllister has coached nearly 30 state and nationally ranked players.

An accomplished player even after his departure from Southwestern, McAllister has had 35 Texas rankings since 1971, five USTA rankings in 1983 and won the 1988 PTR National 45 Singles Championship. He was named Texas Pro of the Year twice and has been a USPTA Master Professional since 1987.

McAllister was also inducted into the Texas Tennis Coaches Hall of Fame in 2000 and Snyder High School Athletic Hall of Honor in 2011.

To be considered for the Southwestern Hall of Fame, candidates must meet eligibility requirements and are selected by the Hall of Fame committee. The Athletics Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held on the campus of Southwestern University in the fall of 2014.